TOURNAMENT DAY 2 – 2022 Australian Darts Open

The second and third sessions of the 2022 Australian Darts Open Round Robin played out yesterday, with top-class Darts action happening throughout the day. 

Game one began at noon when Tasmanian Qualifier Leon Towns played Justin Thompson, who earnt his spot through the qualifiers and is the WDF Australian #10. Thompson played well throughout the game and clinched a 5-2 victory to start his Round Robin campaign.

WDF #3 Kirsty Hutchinson, up against WDF Australian #3 Kym Mitchell, was a belter in the next game. Mitchell started well and won the first leg comfortably. Hutchinson then won the next two with some impressive throws. Mitchell then also won the next two, leading 3-2. Hutchinson equalled the legs 3-3 before an intense final leg. With the scores 10 – 8, both ladies needed pinpoint accuracy to come away with the win, and after 26 darts, Mitchell was the better, upsetting the world #3.

WDF Australian #1 Tori Kewish returned to her best in her game today against Japanese International Yukie Sakaguchi. The match was neck-a-neck with two legs apiece until Kewish broke away to make it 3-2, and then scored a 180 to break away even further and collect the win, despite a reasonable effort from Sakaguchi.

New South Wale’s Mitchell Clegg, who qualified in the Darts Open qualifiers, started his Round Robin group against Victorian Brandon Weening. Both players were exceptionally even throughout the game, with each player having three legs after the halfway point of the match. Clegg pulled some great shots to close the game and hold a 5-3 victory as the underdog in the group.

In the afternoon’s final game, ‘The prodigy’, Ky Smith, who faced his dad the night before, came up against Danny Porter. It took two legs before either player got going. Porter threw excellent throws and played consistently well throughout the match, winning four of the last five legs to win 5-3.

In the other games of the afternoon session, WDF Australian #3 Sam Ballinger defeated Liam McDonell 5-2.

South Australian Scott Hallett surprised most, winning comfortably against Queensland Qualifier winner Jamie Rundle 5-1.

Aaron Morrison responded from his loss in session one with style, defeating Michael Cassar 5-2.

Japanese international and WDF Asian #56 Yuya Higuchi didn’t miss a beat either, defeating ACT Qualifier winner Darren Carson 5-0.

Western Australia Qualifier David Platt had a close start against ‘Watermelon boy’ Cory Lloyd with two legs each before winning three straight to secure his victory 5-2

And finally, in the women’s matches, Amanda Loch played superbly against WDF New Zealand #3 Desi Mercer, winning 4-0.

And 2019 Winner of the Australian Darts Open Lisa Ashton returned to her best, defeating WDF Australian #7 Abbey Morrison 4-0.

The room was packed with family, friends and fans during Session Three as the Darts Open hosted the last games of the group stage before the finals began.

To start the night, WDF Australian Open #1 Peter Machin played Justin Thompson, who had bested Leon Towns in the afternoon. The game had some terrific performances from both players. Remarkably, Machin sank back to back 143 checkouts during the game, helping him get across the line and into the finals.

The first women’s game of the night played host to a close match of darts. WDF New Zealand #1 Wendy Harper came up against Kym Mitchell in a tight affair. Scores were close, with Harper barely up against Mitchell 3-2 coming into the game’s last set, when Harper broke away and won 4-2.

Mitchell Clegg again played well, this time against WDF Australian #5 Jeremy Fagg. Clegg came out the blocks early, earning himself four out of the first five legs of the match, impressively sinking a thirteen darter for leg number two. Despite a late surge from Fagg, Clegg won the game with another 5-3 victory getting himself into the finals.

WDF #1 Neil Duff played a tough match against Yuya Higuchi, who had just come off a clean-sweep victory against Darren Carson. In a back and forth affair, Higuchi was able to peg three legs against the world number one with impressive throws. But Duff was too strong once again and defeated Higuchi in a high-quality game, 5-3

Nearing the night’s end, WDF New Zealand #2 Nichole Regnaud, who had defeated the 2019 Australian Darts Open winner the night before, played against Abbey Morrison. Regnaud started very well once again, earning herself the first three legs. Morrison was able to capitalise on some missed shots from the New Zealand international and got two legs before Regnaud was able to finally seal the game and book herself into the final unbeaten.

In the other games, Liam McDonell won against Donovan Lottering 5-2. However, because of leg differentials, he will not be progressing into the finals, with Sam Ballinger earning his spot instead.

Two of Japan’s finest players, 2019 Pacific Masters winner Mikuru Suzuki and Yukie Sakaguchi, played against each other. Both players played well, but it was Suzuki who won it in the end 4-2 to earn her spot in the finals.

WDF Australian #2 Mal Cuming was unable to shake off a persistent Scott Hallett, with Hallett claiming the victory and getting into the finals.

WDF New Zealand #1 Haupai Puha convincingly defeated Michael Cassar 5-0, showing that he will be a formidable opponent in the finals.

WDF #1 Beau Greaves also won in straight sets against New Zealand’s Desi Mercer. Whilst struggling to seal her third leg taking 28 darts to secure it, she was able to win 4-0. Not dropping a single leg coming into the final day.

WDF Dutch #1 Jelle Klaasen proved too strong for Cory Lloyd, with some great playing to win 5-1, as he also looks to be a tough opponent coming into the finals.

Finally, after a long day of darts, Raymond Smith defeated Danny Porter 5-3 to earn the last spot in the finals.

You can watch all the action by watching the Kayo Freebie link here.

You can also look at ALL the scores, both live and anything throughout the week, on the Dart Connect TV.

Today is the Finals of the 2022 Australian Darts Open. The first match begins at 12:00pm.