Smith and Homer win North Queensland Classic titles

Raymond Smith (men’s) and Maureen Homer (ladies) took out the respective North Queensland Classic singles titles at the weekend.

Held at Townsville Dart Hall, the Grand Prix tournament featured doubles events on Saturday and culminated with the singles competitions on Sunday.

In the men’s singles, Raymond Smith produced some superb darts on his way to the final where he met Donovan Lottering.

Lottering managed to edge out Jeremy Fagg 5-4 in the semi final to book his spot in the decider.

However, it was Smith who averaged 83.98 in the final, powering away to win 6-1 and secure the Tony “deadly Boomerang” David trophy.

Meanwhile in the ladies singles competition, Maureen Homer faced Eva Dilger in the decider.

Both finalists had to overcome tight battles in the semi finals with 4-3 victories against Seini Vakanofiti and Kathleen Martin respectively.

Ultimately is was Homer who secured the Orelle Ashe crown, 5-3, in a superb effort.

In Saturday’s doubles action, the team of Rob Woods and John Matheson claimed the men’s doubles crown after defeating Larry Leedie and Trent Thompson, 6-1.

As the eventual singles finalist Eva Dilger and her partner Seini Vakanofiti overcame Maxine Arndt and Judy Taylor, 5-2, to secure the ladies doubles title.

For full results from the tournament, head over to DartConnect via the link below:

Visit Darts Australia or Darts Queensland’s Facebook pages for a collection of the best photos from the event.