Schaefer takes out Anzac Open

Murray Bridge Darts Club held the Anzac Open over this past weekend.

Emerging victorious was Karl Schaefer who defeated Peter Machin, 7-5, in Sunday evening’s hard-fought singles final.

The action got underway on Saturday with the doubles event, as 27 pairs took to the boards.

Rob Modra and Mark Webster were the victors after overcoming Danny Porter and Scott Goold in the final.

MBDC Tournament Director Kevin and MBDC President Darren Young were extremely pleased with how the tournament proceeded.

“I’m very happy with the turnout, combined over both days we got 100 players. We did get a couple of travellers from Victoria and Northern Territory and it was good to see some people make the effort to come down.” Kevin said.

The club annually holds an Anzac dawn service to begin the weekend, which shapes the atmosphere and sets an honorable tone for the tournament.

“The Anzac dawn service is something we’ve always done when we were running the grand prix event. We had Merv the Vice President of the local RSL read the ode out. It just puts everyone in a good mood and makes it a really good weekend.” Darren said.

“We have a live bugle player that plays the Last Post – it creates a good atmosphere leading into both days,” Kevin added.

The father and son duo thanked anyone who lent a helping hand to ensure the tournament ran as smoothly as possible.

“Big thanks to the committee and all the volunteers that helped out over the weekend. The bar and the kitchen ran flawlessly, and thanks for all the help I got from running the tournament,” said Kevin

Darren added: “Being a little country club, everyone who I hadn’t seen before came up and said how good it was, which was fantastic to hear.”

Prize winners:


Winners: Rob Modra & Mark Webster

Runners up: Danny Porter and Scott Goold

Equal 3rd: Kevin Young and Mark Smith, Danny Scally and Chris Jarvis

Equal 5th: Aaron Morrison and Ryan Lynch, Scott Hallett and Damo Rivett, Mark Carter and Brad Clothier, George Creasey and Brett Selga

Last Ladies: Barb Smyth and Jules Taylor

HPO 160: Scott Hallett & Damo Rivett


Winner: Karl Schaefer

Runner up: Peter Machin

Equal 3rd: Aaron Morrison, Damo Rivett

Equal 5th: Rob Modra, Kevin Young, Danny Scally, George Creasey

Equal 9th: Tony Pettit, Ryan Lynch, Brad Clothier, Dwayne Wilson, Ramone Whitehurst, Scott Hallett, Mark Webster, Matt Roberts

HPO: Trevor Brockman – 141

Last Lady: Amanda Loch

Last B grade: Wendy May

Images: L-R (Singles winner Karl Schaefer & runner up Peter Machin)