Morrison & Mitchell take out North Queensland Classic titles

Aaron Morrison (men’s) and Kym Mitchell (ladies) won their respective North Queensland titles at the weekend.

It was a South Australia success story, with both the men’s and ladies singles and doubles titles claimed by South Australian winners.

Held at Townsville Dart Hall, the Grand Prix tournament featured doubles events on Saturday and concluded with the singles competitions on Sunday.

In the men’s singles, Aaron Morrison had played some superb darts throughout the tournament before reaching the final against John Matheson.

Matheson had won against some tough opposition to book his spot, defeating the experienced Peter Machin 5-1.

In the final, Morrison came out firing, earning himself five legs in a row to clinch the Tony “deadly Boomerang” David trophy over Matheson, winning 6-1.

In the ladies singles, Kym Mitchell came up against Seini Vakanofiti in the final.

Vakanofti was the Semi-Finalist in the 2021 North Queensland ladies Singles Classic, and this year, she had to defeat her 2021 Semi-Finalist Opponent and eventual winner of the 2021 Title, Maureen Homer, to make it to the final. Vakanofiti won her match 4-1 before the final against Mitchell.

Eventually, Mitchell got hold of the Orelle Ashe crown, defeating Vakanofti in straight sets 5-0.

In Saturday’s doubles action, the team of Aaron Morrison and Scott Mitchell won the men’s doubles event, defeating Craig Miller and David Nogar Jnr in a tight affair, 6 – 4

As the eventual singles winner, Kym Mitchell and her partner Lyn Morrison overcame Venus Johnson and Rihani Snary by 5 games to 4 to win the ladies doubles title.

For full results from the tournament, head over to DartConnect via the link here: North Queensland Classic results

Visit Darts Queensland’s Facebook page for a collection of the best photos from the event.