Darts Australia Championships ready for action

The 42nd year of the Australian Championships heralds another piece of history for Darts Australia in the making.

The opening Ceremony kicks off what is for many players, the highlight of their darts year to be taking part in these Championships

It’s a time for States and Territories to revive friendships and compete for the pride of being crowned as Australian Champions.

President Mr. Kelvin James will lead up the opening ceremony by welcoming players and dignitaries to the Rich River Golf Club.

James explained that the event continues to grow from strength to strength.

“Every year many of the same players return, but it never ceases to amaze me the number of new and exciting players who arrive on the scene,” he explained.

“It speaks volumes for the future of our sport, and I am looking forward to an exciting week in Moama.”

The first hit out for the teams will. be the Peter McMenamin Cup.

Named after Peter McMenamin – former ACT/Australian/World Darts Federation President, his career spanned from 1966 until his passing in 2001.

The format for the Cup is played as Men’s and Ladies teams of four, called Green and Gold.

There is one leg of singles and it is the first team to win nine legs.

Finals are played with the winner of Green playing the winner of Gold in both Men’s and :adies.

It is a great way to start the Championships and many players and Captains alike use it to gauge performance leading up to the rest of the week.